Grace Notes

Weekly Devotions from Landmark Baptist Church

Whiter than Snow (Issue 1.18)


Originally Written for 1/25/09

I’ve lost my sun-glasses…  This used to be a very common ocurance, until I got prescription glasses (well, actually they’re glasses with magnetic clip-ons).  This is actually the first time in several years I’ve lost them…

Every day when it’s bright and sunny out I notice it – whether it’s driving to work, going to church, or standing out with the buses after school.  I keep looking, but I haven’t found them yet.

This week was particularly rough.  I went outside after the wonderful snow fall and felt practically blinded because of the sun reflecting off the snow.  I remember living in the north when it seemed brighter in the winter than in the summer because of the snow, and I was reminded this week why I always wore sun glasses or goggles when I skied, just to dim the reflection.

Tonight while I was reflecting back on this and going through some hymns in the hymn book (planning for February), I stumbled upon this:

Jesus paid it all;

All to Him I owe.

Sin had left a crimson stain;

He washed it white as snow.

What a refrain – and it seemed to strike a new chord tonight.  Check out Psalm 51:7:

Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;

wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

In light of this past week, this verse reminds me how blessed we are.  My dad’s favorite Psalm is 103.  I have a feeling that part of (though not the entire reason) it is due to these verses:

Praise the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits- who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases,  who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion,  who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

The LORD is compassionate and gracious,  slow to anger, abounding in love.  He will not always accuse,  nor will he harbor his anger forever; does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities.

For as high as the heavens are above the earth,  so great is his love for those who fear him;  as far as the east is from the west,  so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

I think this week reminded us of just how clean we’ve been made.  What other response can we have except to praise Him?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2009 by in E-January 09, Volume I and tagged , , , , .

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Copyright

All posts are © Thomas R. Feller, Jr., 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Thomas R. Feller, Jr. with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
