Grace Notes

Weekly Devotions from Landmark Baptist Church

Daddy God (Issue 1.19)


Originally Written for 2/1/09

Well I’m not going to win “Daddy of the Week” this week….

Saturday afternoon I was sitting at the computer trying to get some work done while at the same time trying to get dinner ready.  At the same time, Melissa was taking a nap so I was watching Chloe.  She was playing in the other room and came in by me then went over towards the bunny cage.  She reached into the hay bin and pulled out a piece of hay (as she does almost every day) and I said, “Are you going to feed the bunny?”  She went, “Uh-huh” and I went back to working on the computer.  Next thing I hear is a cry and I turn around and Chloe is holding her finger.  Looks like the bunny bit it on accident while she was sticking the piece of hay in.  Ooops… If only I had been paying more attention.

Anyway, it got me thinking – I’m glad God is a better daddy than I’ll ever be; no matter how busy He is, He’s always got time to watch me and listen to me.  Listen to what David says:

Where can I go from your Spirit?

Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me,

your right hand will hold me fast.

(I chose this verse because it makes me feel better; I also thought of the one where Jesus says, “And if you who are sinful…” followed by the phrase, “And what father…”, but that was just a little too depressing..)

Anyway, it’s nice to know God’s always there, isn’t it?  Except, unlike today when I had my back turned on Chloe while she was playing, too often I turn my back on God and do my own thing.  He may always be there watching, but too often I think we ignore Him.

One of the hardest things for us to do is walk daily with Him.  As I was working on music for February, Bill told me to focus on themes that would piggy-back on “God’s involvement in our day-to-day life.”  I guess Saturday was a little reminder of that – sometimes God teaches lessons in ways we never forget.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2009 by in F-February 09, Volume I and tagged , , .

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Copyright

All posts are © Thomas R. Feller, Jr., 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Thomas R. Feller, Jr. with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
