Grace Notes

Weekly Devotions from Landmark Baptist Church

Worship Part VII: Monday-Saturday Worship (3.7)


This week we’re going to look a little at the Monday-Saturday relationship we have with Christ.  Remember that worship is an of our relationship with God through Christ, and Sunday worship is an overflow of our Monday-Saturday worship, so it stands to reason that everything starts with that personal relationship.

Think of it this way:

Do you see how it’s all connected?  We can not worship on Sunday morning unless we have had good worship throughout the week, but we can’t worship throughout the week unless it’s grounded (overflowing from) our personal, daily walk with Christ.  And at the end of the week (Sunday), our corporate worship should motivate/inspire us to develop a deeper personal relationship with Christ, which then overflows into personal worship, and the cycle repeats itself.

So how do you nurture that personal relationship with God daily?  One obvious method is to spend daily time in prayer and Bible reading.  What book of the Bible are you reading/studying right now?  Personally, I’m involved in a men’s group Bible study of the book of Daniel and Melissa and I are working our way through Philippians as a couple, and when I read on my own I’m currently in the book of Romans.  I don’t say this to “brag” or make myself look good, because, believe me, I don’t do all three every day (and some days, regretfully, I don’t even do one), but that’s what I’m reading.

Another way in which you can develop your relationship with God is to look for God in the little things every day.  For example….  Earlier this week I was driving to work one morning and as I cross the Tar River Bridge on US-264 I looked over toward one of the little lakes and saw a bald eagle perched atop a telephone pole looking out over the lake (I’m assuming he was looking for food).  Just the sight of that eagle brought many things to mind – from the glory of God’s work to the beauty of how God works to the creativity displayed throughout just our little section of the world – yet alone the entire universe.  I was also reminded of Isaiah’s prophecy which reads “But those who wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.” (40:31).  Have I told you how tired I have been all week and this weekend?  I’ve had trouble falling asleep, been extremely busy at work, and just had a very, very busy week – and God’s promise of renewing my strength is exactly what I needed (and still need).

And this experience all happened as an over-flow of past times spent with God – he used the sight of that bird to remind me of his word (which I’ve read many times), and then encouraged my spirit and my soul through it.  My response?  I was able to just thank him for his promise, for his word, his faithfulness, and his strength while I drove my car to work.  In short, I worshipped him.

Take a whole bunch of those experiences over the course of a day and week, and when I come to church on Sunday I’m ready to celebrate with others’ God’s goodness and faithfulness because I’ve experienced it through the week.  That’s what I mean when I saw that Sunday worship is an overflow of weekday worship – as God interacts with me Monday-Saturday (and I respond to him), I arrive at church on Sunday morning ready to not only receive what he wants to give me in the service, but motivated to share with others how he has encouraged me – I overflow.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2010 by in C - October 2010, Volume III and tagged , , , .

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Copyright

All posts are © Thomas R. Feller, Jr., 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Thomas R. Feller, Jr. with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
